Crystal Design Blog Post

Jacob Farber

Artist Statement:

My artwork is a turtle made of crystal fragments with crystals sticking out of it. The globs that are surrounding the turtle are random but I think it looks like smoke coming off the turtle. The subject matter of this project is crystals so I did a lot with crystals in my art piece. This majestic work of art will go by the name of “Icy Turtle”.

I made my Icy Turtle in Adobe Illustrator with the pen tool primarily. I took a picture of a turtle from Google and started outlining it with sharp edges and out of nowhere thought it would be cool to crystalize the turtle. I chose to color the crystals with a gradient so the crystals would look more 3D.

My artwork was inspired by our Crystal Design assignment and a cool picture I saw of a crystalized polar bear. There isn’t really a lot of inspiration or emotion behind my artwork but it is supposed to be very majestic and artsy.

My goal as an artist is to learn how to get better at using Adobe applications so I can be better at graphic design and this project really helped me learn how to use the pen tool which is something I wasn’t very good at using before this project.

The final piece of my artwork isn’t actually what I imagined it would be because I thought that I’d make the whole turtle but I still think my project looks pretty cool. Because of this project I made over the last two weeks I will be using the pen tool a lot more and I will be able to make way cooler things with it.

 

Peer Critique: #25, Chase Shavey

  1. I like the background and how it points to the center of the piece.
  2. Why did you do only the head of the turtle?
  3. I think that you should make more of the turtle.

 

 

Leave a comment