Low-poly Geometric Design Blog Post

Progress photos:low loly gloves prog 1low loly gloves prog 2low loly gloves prog 3

Finished Product:

low loly gloves

TAG Critique: Chase Shavey

T) I like how you did the right glove in comparison to the left one.

A) Why were your triangles so small?

G) Next time I think you should make larger triangles so it looks more like a low poly than a drawing.

Artist Statement:

My artwork is a recreation of my lacrosse gloves in low poly form. I’m titling this piece “Mercer Island Lacrosse Gloves Low Poly” because I can’t think of anything better to name it. The obvious element or principle in my work is the low poly style.

The media I used to make this art work with is Adobe Illustrator. This project was originally supposed to be done in Photoshop but I didn’t like how you can’t manipulate each layer of color you put in. Also the hotkeys were not working for Photoshop so I switched back over to Illustrator. In Illustrator I used the pen tool.

My artwork was inspired by my lacrosse gloves just because they look cool. I also chose to low poly my gloves because I noticed a lot of triangles in the glove’s padding and it didn’t seem like it would be too hard to make. Turns out that it actually was pretty hard to make because of the shading and small details. My work doesn’t express any emotions but I just made it because it looks pretty cool.

My goal as an artist is just to impress myself a little bit more every time and this time I was quite impressed with what I was able to do.

From creating this artwork I learned how to low poly in Photoshop and in Illustrator. The final piece is better than I thought it would be because the low poly looks exactly like the picture and I can’t even find any flaws. Because of this project I might consider using low poly for another project in the future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment